Minors on Campus Event Requests
South Georgia State College is a member of the University System of Georgia (USG). USG institutions periodically conduct, sponsor, or host programs designed to serve minors who are not enrolled as students, including but not limited to camps, clinics, after school programs, and activities. Employees and volunteers associated with these programs who are reasonably anticipated to have direct contact or interaction with minor program participants must be appropriately pre-screened and trained. Institution presidents shall establish institution-level procedure. (USG Board Policy 6.9 Programs Serving Minors).
Reservations are accepted based on a first-come, first-serve basis, on availability of space and event service requirements. Availability of preferred dates and facility can be determined through the Office of Institutional Advancement by calling 912-260-4269 or emailing email@example.com.
If the proposed event is for or may be attended by minors, those under 18 years of age, compliance with the South Georgia State College Minors on Campus policy is required. The policy may be viewed here.
To submit an event with Minors on Campus, complete the attached request form. Events should be requested 30 days prior to an event to ensure all paperwork and training is completed as needed.
All programs must be pre-approved before the program activity/event involving minors occurs.
Any program or activity involving minors must be registered and approved through South Georgia State College. The program registry will be housed in the Office of Institutional Advancement. All on-going programs must register annually.
If approved, all Minors on Campus events will be required to complete program forms based on whether the event is college-sponsored or being held by an external third-party. All necessary paperwork and/or training to be completed will be sent via email to camp organizer.
Please note - Mandatory Reporting
- It is the policy of the University System of Georgia to refer all criminal acts to law enforcement for investigation. This includes the neglect or abuse of minors. Georgia law, O.C.G.A. § 19-7-5, requires certain persons to report suspected child abuse to the appropriate authorities. Mandatory Reporters include but are not limited to faculty/teachers, administrators, counselors, social workers, psychologists, law enforcement personnel, and other persons who participate in providing care, treatment, education, training, supervision, coaching, counseling, recreational programs or shelter to minors. In addition to contacting the police department, Mandatory Reporters must also report suspected neglect or abuse to the Georgia Department of Human Services by calling 1-855-GACHILD (422-4453).