South Georgia State College

Parking and Traffic Enforcement

Operating a motor vehicle on campus is a privilege extended by South Georgia State College in return for adherence to regulations designed to promote the safety and welfare of all. Campus Police and other College officials may cite those who violate parking rules and regulations as well as the Georgia Traffic Code. This area provides information regarding vehicle registration, parking information and answers to common questions.

                                                   

SGSC Parking Permits

Only SGSC Residential Students are required to have a parking permit.  Before issuance of a parking decal, a Residential Parking Permit must be completed.  Bring the completed application to the Police Department along with your SGSC Student ID.  Once issued, the decal will be affixed to the exterior of the driver’s side back window on the bottom. On a motorcycle, permits should be on the rear fender or the windshield.  Additional decals cost $10 each.

Decals are not transferable from one vehicle to another. If, for any reason, you must drive another vehicle, you can obtain a Temporary Parking Permit from the RLC in Tiger II.  

Student Parking

There are ample parking spaces on both the Douglas and Waycross Campuses.  Early arrival is suggested for spaces considered prime, and once you find a parking space it is best to remain parked during your time on campus that day. 

General Parking Rules:

  • Unless permitted by the State of Georgia, there is no parking in Handicap Parking.  The handicap person must be in the vehicle and the decal/tag assigned to the handicapped person must be visible.
  • Parking is prohibited in walkways, which normally are lined with white paint.
  • Parking is prohibited within 15 feet of any building or intersection.
  • Vehicles are not permitted to park or wait at a yellow curb, or in driveways.
  • Do not park or drive on the grass or sidewalks.
  • Do not park alongside roadway unless there are designated parking spaces.  Park with right tires no more than 12" from the curb.
  • The un/loading area in front of Tiger Village II on the Douglas Campus has a 15 minute limit.

Parking PENALTIES and Appeals

The penalties for violating parking rules and regulations include fines, student conduct referrals, vehicle "boots", and loss of campus parking privileges.  Those parking on campus are responsible for any fines or fees associated with parking contrary to the Parking and Traffic rules.   Parking fees are assessed for a one year period beginning the date of your first citation.  Fine amount can be accessed in the Common Questions portion of this site.  Citations issued for repeat offenses result in an increase of fines for additional citations. Additionally, a vehicle will be booted upon the fourth offense and will be required to pay a boot removal fee of $50.00 and any outstanding parking citations before removal.  Citations will be voided only in the case of error by the issuing officer.  You are not entitled to a warning for your first offense.

File a Parking Appeal by clicking on the link.   Parking appeals MUST BE FILED WITHIN 7 DAYS OF RECEIVING A CITATION.  Appeals will be heard through the Student Conduct Board.  Notifications of the appeal results will be emailed to SGSC email accounts. 

COMMON QUESTIONS ABOUT PARKING

Am I required to have a parking decal?  How much does a permit cost?

Only Residential Students are required to have a parking permit.

Before issuance of a parking decal you must complete the Residential Student Parking Permit Application.  Bring your SGSC Student ID and completed application to the Police Department so that you can obtain a permit.

The first permit is covered in the cost of tuition. Decals are not transferable from one vehicle to another.  Additional decals are $10 each.

Where do I place the permit on my car?

The permit goes on the exterior bottom side of the drivers back window.  On a motorcycle or softtop convertible, permits should be on the rear fender or windshield.

Where am I allowed to park?

You can park in any space that has been designated for parking.  The handicap person must be in the vehicle and the decal/tag assigned to the handicapped person must be visible. 

When does my permit expire?

Permits expire July 1 of the latest year on your decal. 

What should I do if I am driving a vehicle that is not the one that I normally drive?  What if I have a visitor?

If Residential Students must drive another vehicle, a temporary permit can be obtained from the RLC Office.  Temporary permits are available for limited amounts of time and need to be taped in the driver’s side back window so that they are visible.

Residential Students must ensure that their overnight guests obtain a visitors pass.  The passes can be obtained from your RLC who must sign and date the form.  Post the visitor’s pass in the back window on the drivers side of the vehicle. 

I received a parking citation…

The penalties for violating parking rules and regulations include fines, student conduct referrals, vehicle "boots", holds on student transcripts, and loss of campus parking privileges.  Anyone parking on the SGSC campus is responsible for any fines or fees associated with parking the vehicle contrary to the Parking and Traffic rules.  To have a boot removed, students must pay any outstanding parking fees and a $50.00 removal fee.  Parking fees are assessed each semester.  Citations issued for repeat offenses result in an increase of fines for additional citations.

How much is my fine?     

Offense 1st 2nd 3rd
No parking permit or  Expired permit  $15.00  $25.00  $35.00
Failure to properly display decal                     $15.00  $25.00  $35.00
False registration of vehicle  $15.00  $25.00  $35.00
Illegal Parking  $15.00  $25.00  $35.00
            Handicap Parking  $150.00  $200.00 $250.00
            Visitor Parking  $15.00  $25.00  $35.00
            Parking on Roadway  $15.00  $25.00  $35.00
            Loading/unloading zone  $15.00  $25.00  $35.00
            Yellow Curb  $15.00  $25.00  $35.00
            No Parking Space  $15.00  $25.00  $35.00
            Parked in Wrong Direction  $15.00  $25.00  $35.00
            Parking on Grass  $15.00  $25.00  $35.00
            Parking in Commuter Zone  $15.00  $25.00  $35.00
Driving in a prohibited area  $15.00  $25.00  $35.00
Failure to obey a traffic officer  $15.00  $25.00  $35.00
Blocking a fire lane or fire hydrant  $15.00  $25.00  $35.00
Driving to campus, bringing to campus, or failing to remove a car with revoked registration from campus  $50.00  $100.00 $200.00
Excessively loud  $15.00  $25.00  $35.00

                                  •   Most fines increase in ten dollar increments
Where do I pay my parking and traffic fines?

Parking citations issued on campus can be paid online through Touchnet or paid at the Cashier’s Office on either campus.  Payments are not accepted at any other location on campus.  

If issued State of Georgia citations by SGSC police officers on the Douglas Campus, the payment must be made at City of Douglas Municipal Court located at the Douglas Police Dept. If you choose to appear in court, you must do so at the Coffee County Law Enforcement Center located on Thompson Drive.

Why was I referred to student conduct about parking issues?

Once a student receives four parking violations, he or she is referred to Student Conduct for repeat offending.  The Student Conduct Board will notify you when the board has scheduled your hearing and of the results of the hearing.  Your attendance at the student conduct hearing is not mandatory.

I've heard that my car can be "booted".  Is this true?

The penalties for violating parking rules and regulations include fines, student conduct referrals, vehicle "boots", holds on student transcripts, and loss of campus parking privileges. A vehicle will be booted upon the fourth offense and the student will be required to pay a boot removal fee of $50.00 along with any outstanding parking citations before removal.  Citations will be voided only in the case of error by the issuing officer.

What if I disagree with the charges?

Citations for parking violations will be voided only in case of error by the issuing officer.  If you feel that you are wrongly cited, you have 7 days to file a Parking Appeal.  The fine will be paid regardless of appeal and will be refunded upon presentation of a receipt should the appeal be upheld.  You are not entitled to a warning for your first offense.